Preakness Odds & Predictions for 2019Preakness Stakes is one of the premier horse racing events in the world. South African betting sites always feature the latest odds Preakness Stakes for fans of the annual horse racing competition. The 2019 Preakness Stakes will be its 144th year running, making it one of the oldest thoroughbred racing events in the planet. The Preakness is scheduled for May 18th. Every year, the question on every horse racing fan’s mind is where is the Preakness race held? Don’t fret, we got you.

As the second leg of the Triple Crown, the Preakness Stakes carries a lot of prestige for the jockeys because it’s the accumulation of wins towards winning the Triple Crown. You can select the Preakness favourites from the 14 horses making their way to the field. Our comprehensive guide looks at the odds as well as predictions from our expert tipsters on which horses are primed to win. Find a list of top horse racing betting sites in South Africa and start winning today!

Best Preakness Racing Sites Online

Claim Now
100% Match
Up to $100
✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
Bet €10 Get €10

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

Preakness Odds & Predictions for 2019

When you bet on Preakness online, you have to ensure that you know all about what happened in the Kentucky Derby. That is, because the winner of the first leg of the Triple Crown tournament has added incentive to perform well. This year things might be a little different due to the fact that the winner of the 2019 Kentucky Derby developed a cough and will not be racing. Please find a list of Preakness horses that will be taking part in the competition below and start preparing. The Preakness morning lines are scheduled to be open on May 15th and you can also watch the Preakness online.

Where is the Preakness Held?

Fans that are not familiar with the event will be bemused by the fact that the venue for the Preakness Stakes hasn’t changed much over the years. The Pimlico Race Course is the inaugural destination of the three-year-old racing competition. There are numerous sports betting establishments that offer the best horse racing odds in Baltimore, Maryland. However, if you cannot get there, you can always do everything over the internet. The horse racing ticket calculator is able to track the pool prize and you can stand a chance at winning the jackpot from the comfort of your own home.

Best Preakness Racing Sites Online

Preakness Horse Race Tips

The headlines coming into the Preakness Stakes generally follow the winner of the Kentucky Derby. Many bettors are thus set their wagers according to what the general public think and not what the experts predict. It seldom works, looking at how Justify won the Triple Crown races. The gambling strategy for the Preakness Stakes racing poses some issues for first-time bettors. For example:

  • The makeup of the racecourse is not announced until the Kentucky Derby race is officially over. This conundrum delays future bets so that you may get an idea of which thoroughbreds perform best in certain courses.
  • Because the winner at the Kentucky Derby it’s tipped to win the Preakness as well, it features as most horse racing punter’s bet. This makes the payout of the bet unattractive for most horse racing fans.
  • Other prop bets that you may find include the winner’s distance ahead of their nearest opponent when it hits the finish line, the winning time of the race and some more exotic bets.


Past Preakness Stakes Winners

YearWinnerJockeyTrainerWinning Time
2018JustifyMike E. SmithBob Baffert1:55:93
2017Cloud ComputingJavier CastellanoChad Brown1:55:98
2016ExaggeratorKent DesormeauxKeith Desormeaux1:58:31
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob Baffert1:58:46
2014California ChromeVictor EspinozaArt Sherman1:54.84
2013OxbowGary StevensD. W. Lukas1:57.54
2012I’ll Have AnotherMario GutierrezDoug O’Neill1:55.94
2011ShacklefordJesus CastanonDale Romans1:56.47
2010Lookin at LuckyMartin GarciaBob Baffert1:55.47
2009Rachel AlexandraCalvin BorelSteve Asmussen1:55.08
2008Big BrownKent DesormeauxRichard Dutrow, Jr.1:54.80