Momentum One Day Cup Betting TipsThe Momentum One Day Cup has changed its name a lot of times without losing its appeal. Since its first season in 1982-83, it has changed from being known as the One Day Cup, to MTN Domestic Championship and then the Standard Bank Cup. The Momentum One Day Cup is the premier local one-day cricket competition in South Africa, featuring some of the best cricketers in the country. Each and every season, cricket lovers are treated to a single day filled with jam-packed live cricket action. Punters can bet on the Momentum One Day Cup winner or pick teams for the individual cricket matches.

Best Cricket Betting Websites in South Africa

Claim Now
100% Match
Up to $100
✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets
Bet €10 Get €10

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

✔ Daily Promotions

✔ FREE Bets

Brief History of The Momentum One Day Cup

There’s a much healthier level of competition all-round from the days when there were only 11 cricket teams during the 1994 season. In 2019, the tournament will be in its 38th edition and while there are only six teams, the standard of cricket has risen tremendously. With several changes that the competition has undergone, find out how the cricket tournament is played in its current format below.

The Momentum One Day Cup Fixture

The current format of the Momentum One Day Cup tournament sees each of the six teams play two games against all the teams. These home and away league matches are part of the 30 round robin games that determine the teams that qualify for the knockout stages. There is a qualifier for the second final spot that is played while the first final spot goes to the cricket team that topped the league table after all the points have been tallied. Here’s a description of how teams earn their points below:

  • Win: four points
  • Loss: 0 points
  • Tie: abandoned matches or no result: two points
  • Bonus Points: one point is awarded to the winning team with a run rate of at least 1.25 times that of the opposition.

Momentum One Day Cup Odds

South Africans looking to bet on the Momentum One Day Cup matches need to understand which betting markets have the best payout potential. That’s what we are here for. You will come across loads of several betting odds at top sportsbooks online and you need to separate betting options that are worth your while and the ones that aren’t. Here’s a list of the most popular betting markets for the Momentum One Day Cup predictions 2019:

  • Outright winner: you can predict the winner of the tournament and make your payout even bigger.
  • Total Over/Under: Pick single matches throughout the tournament and predict the number of runs that each team will score.
  • Top Runscorer: Choose a batsman with the highest run-rate to score the most runs. You can bet on a single match or the overall tournament.
  • Total Match 6’s: Predict the average number of 6s in the entire cricket match and win big.

Momentum One Day Cup Betting Odds

Momentum One Day Cup Betting Tips

Peep through our Momentum One Day Cup today match predictions from our expert tipsters that follow this game of cricket. If you browse through the last couple of tournaments, you will realise that teams go through a cycle in which they dominate the competition. It is wise to note that futures for the Momentum One Day Cup are risky because the first prize can be shared. All your 2019 predictions should be guided by how the team performed in the previous tournament along with the players available for the tournament. With 2019 being the ICC World Cup year, some players will not want to overextend themselves before the global showpiece. Thus, punters should bet knowing that players have one foot in the next cricket competition.

Teams in the Momentum One Day Cup

There are currently six cricket teams competing in the Momentum One Day Cup tournament

  • Cape Cobras (Cape Town)
  • Dolphins (Durban)
  • Knights (Bloemfontein)
  • Lions (North West)
  • Titans (Centurion)
  • Warriors (Port Elizabeth)

Past Momentum One Day Cup Winners

2017/18Dolphins and Warriors (shared)
2015/16LionsCape Cobras
2014/15TitansCape Cobras
2013/14Cape Cobras and Titans (shared)
2012/13Cape Cobras and Lions (shared)
2011/12Cape CobrasWarriors
2008/09TitansDiamond Eagles